About Me

G’day!

My name is Jes Bromley (aka Jesi Boy).

You may know me from my YouTube channel where I post videos sharing my interest for karate.

Karate has been a big part of my life and I plan on sharing my enthusiasm and passion for it with my blog.

I have been training Goju-Kai karate under the teachings of 8th Dan Kiyoshi Shihan Brian Mackie in Australia since 2008.

My parents enrolled me into karate so I could improve my coordination and focus, as well as working on speed, strength and flexibility. This ultimately improved my “hand eye coordination” which helped me with other sports as well.

If we rewind back a few years, I was under the teachings of 5th Dan Shihan Don Heald, where I received my Shodan Ho (Junior Black belt). In those years (2008-2013) I competed the 2013 World Goju-Kai championships in India, which was a big honor.

I then moved clubs to be instructed by 5th Dan Shihan Vasilios Gotsis in early 2014. It was under the teachings of Shihan Gotsis where I came 3rd in the 2015 Goju-Kai Asian Pacific’s, which is a very significant achievement for me, and won gold in the 2015 WA State Championships -14 for Kata and Kumite, and I then achieved the same results in 2016.

A few months after the states I won gold for Kata

and Kumite in the 2016 Australian Schools and

Universities Championships for in my -14 years’ division.

Because of my previous performance,

I was selected to represent WA in the

2016 AKF Nationals where I placed first in

my -14 Kumite event and bronze for

WA in the Team Kumite.

This year, in 2017, was my first year competing in Cadets (14-15). My biggest achievements so far in this division have been: placing 3rd in the Open Cadet Kumite during the Australian Open, placing 3rd in Cadet Kata during the National Titles and placing 3rd in my cadet kumite division during the Australian Nationals.

However, my highlight of 2017 was competing in the Goju-Kai Global Championships in Richmond Canada. It was here that my coaches helped me achieve a bronze medal in Cadet Kata, a silver medal in Under 21 Years Team Kata and another silver Cadet Kumite.

Currently, I am a 14-year-old student in High School who is training for future competitions.

I plan to post engaging content, that is hopefully interesting to read, about WKF news, reviews on karate products and general content about…KARATE.

I hope you have learnt a bit about me, feel free to contact to ask any questions or queries.

-Jesi Boy